The Skies of Mars Cover Art

The Skies of Mars Cover Art

The Skies of Mars Cover Art

This is a fairly quick digital painting I whipped up for the cover of my ebook short story “The Skies of Mars.” I usually sketch something out and scan it and use it as a base, but for this I wanted to get the frenetic feel of the stormy sky, so I used GIMPs digital sponges and brushes to create the dusty sky and a combination of airbrush and smudge brush for the lights of Mars. Although I do feel I could have put in more work on the cityscape, I’m ok with it, since I wanted the lights to be the focus of the cover. If I recall, I believe the stars in the sky are supposed to represent the martian moons deimos and phobos. Though I did employ plenty of artistic license here, I did reference several photos taken on the moon by the rover Curiosity to somewhat approximate the colors of the sky. To check out the story, available on kindle, click here.

This entry was published on June 24, 2014 at 3:19 am. It’s filed under art, blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

